Marriage is just the Means, not the End

Continued thoughts on romantic love…

For single folks, there is a temptation to curse the darkness and wonder why Cupid is ignoring you.  You may feel like love is a baseball game and you have still not been picked.  I personally feel this perspective may be a little shortsighted, especially if you are a Christian.

I like to think of marriage as a fantastic possibility rather than the ultimate goal.  When people view marriage or a relationship as the finish line, I think there is a tendency to either settle(terrible idea) or feel like a failure if you are single.

When you think about it, the 80 years or so that we spend on this earth is a very short period of time in the scheme of eternity.  We have a small amount of time to do the work that we were put here to do, and worrying about marriage all the time is not time well spent.

Please understand, I am a big fan of romance and I think marriage is wonderful.   All I am saying is that you may want take a step back and look at the big picture if you are not satisfied with your love life or lack thereof.

There are a lot of people who did amazing things without a spouse, and were probably able to do much more because they were single.  I think marriage is designed to be two people combining their strengths and compensating for each others weaknesses in order to accomplish more than either could alone.

We were put on this earth for a purpose, and it is up to all of us to run the good race and fight the good fight.  If marriage will help you love God and love others, then by all means go for it.  If marriage would hinder that, then you don’t need it.

Disclosure:  The above is just my perspective.  If it benefits you, take it and use it.  If it doesn’t, don’t worry about it.

Here is a song I have been listening to for all you singles out there.  I love the lyrics: “I’ve got almost and maybes, and what happened here babys, but not a love song.”

Fuzzy recording.  Better version here.

~ by tophluity on April 25, 2011.

One Response to “Marriage is just the Means, not the End”

  1. thank you this came at the right time!!

Leave a comment